The following databases provide access to a vast amount of reference material, including encyclopedias, magazines, newspapers, and academic journals.

If you are using a school computer, you are not required to log in for most databases. If you are using a computer outside of school, you will be required to log in. A Database User ID and Password Information Sheet, which lists all necessary User ID/Passwords, is available from the Garibaldi library.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
World Book Web
Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia
The Canadian Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of BC
Gale Biography Resource Center
Dictionary of Canadian Biography

Multi-resource Databases
EBSCOhost (All databases or choose databases)
EBSCO Canadian Student Research Centre
Gale Student Resource Center – Gold

Journals, Magazines and Newspapers
EBSCO Canadian Reference Centre
Gale Canadian Periodicals (CPI.Q)
EBSCO Academic Search Premier

Other Online Databases
NoveList
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Web Feet
EBSCO Consumer Health Complete
EBSCO Animals
EBSCO GreenFILE
Career Cruising See the library bulletin board for the username and password.

For Teachers
EBSCO Professional Development Collection
EBSCO Teacher Reference Center
Gale Professional Collection

Help Resources
Database Access Provides information on accessing databases when a login is required.
Help Resources for Online Databases Provides links to online tours, tutorials, instructions and FAQ’s for many of the online reference databases.